Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘doubleheaders’

Coupeville grad Joey Lippo is playing college baseball in Maine. (Photo courtesy Connie Lippo)

He’s in there fighting.

While the University of Maine at Presque Isle baseball squad is still looking for its first win this spring, Coupeville grad Joey Lippo is putting up decent numbers.

After being swept in back-to-back doubleheaders Saturday and Sunday by Northern Vermont-Lyndon, the Owls sit at 0-14 with one block of games left on their schedule.

UMPI closes its pandemic-shortened season with five games against the University of Maine-Farmington, set to be played May 7-10.

While the Owls couldn’t topple Northern Vermont-Lyndon, Lippo was a busy guy this weekend, patrolling the outfield, coming out of the bullpen in two of four games, and swinging a big bat at the plate.

The former Wolf star collected four hits, four runs, four RBI, and two base on balls during the series.

On the season, Lippo has played in 13 games (pitching in three), while racking up 42 at-bats, 10 hits, six RBI, five runs, and four walks (including being plunked once.)

He’s tied for #2 on the UMPI hardball squad in hits and RBI, tied for #3 in runs, walks, and batting average, and #4 in at-bats.

The twin brother of dance sensation Skyy Lippo, Joey was a three-sport standout during his days in Coupeville, playing tennis, basketball, and baseball.

He also joined his sister on the stage in several productions, and was an accomplished ice hockey player in his spare time.

Read Full Post »

A recent open gym drew a number of prospective Wolf basketball players. (John Fisken photo)

   A recent open gym drew a number of prospective Wolf basketball players. (John Fisken photos)

Wolf freshman Kalia Littlejohn (righT0 applies defensive pressure during a fall ball game.

   Wolf freshman Kalia Littlejohn (right) applies defensive pressure during a fall ball game.

Fall sports are not quite done yet, but basketball is lurking just around the corner.

Roundball action returns Monday, Nov. 16, when Coupeville High School coaches David King, Amy King, Anthony Smith and Dustin Van Velkinburgh welcome players to the first day of practice.

If the current schedules hold, the Wolf boys will kick off the season two weeks later with a road game on Nov. 30, and the first home hoops action will come in the form of a doubleheader against South Whidbey Dec. 2.

Wolf fans are currently scheduled to get five 2-for-1 deals, with home doubleheaders against South Whidbey, Orcas Island, La Conner, Mount Vernon Christian and Chimacum.

As always, high school sports schedules are almost constantly in flux. Especially before we actually get to the season.

To keep up to date, try either:

School calendar — http://coupeville.tandemcal.com/

Olympic League calendar — http://www.olympicleague.com/index.php?league=21&page_name=school_home&school=0&sport=0

For the moment (at least) the 2015-2016 CHS hoops schedules (league games have an asterisk):

Girls:

Wed-Dec. 2 South Whidbey
Fri-Dec. 4 @ Friday Harbor Tip-Off Classic
Sat-Dec. 5 @ Friday Harbor Tip-Off Classic
Mon-Dec. 7 @ Mount Baker
Wed-Dec. 9 Orcas Island
Fri-Dec. 11 Klahowya (*)
Tue-Dec. 22 @ Vashon Island
Wed-Dec. 30 La Conner
Tues-Jan. 5 @ Port Townsend (*)
Wed-Jan. 6 @ Sequim
Sat-Jan. 9 Mount Vernon Christian
Tue-Jan. 19 @ Chimacum (*)
Wed-Jan. 20 @ Bellevue Christian
Fri-Jan. 22 Port Townsend (*)
Tue-Jan. 26 Chimacum (*)
Fri-Jan. 29 @ Klahowya (*)
Tues-Feb. 2 @ Port Townsend (*)
Thur-Feb. 4 @ Chimacum (*)
Sat-Feb. 6 Klahowya (*) SENIOR NIGHT

Boys:

Mon-Nov. 30 @ Meridian
Wed-Dec. 2 South Whidbey
Sat-Dec. 5 @ Bellevue Christian
Mon-Dec. 7 Mount Baker
Wed-Dec. 9 Orcas Island
Fri-Dec. 11 @ Klahowya (*)
Fri-Dec. 18 Concrete
Wed-Dec. 30 La Conner
Mon-Jan. 4 @ South Whidbey
Tue-Jan. 5 Port Townsend (*)
Sat-Jan. 9 Mount Vernon Christian
Fri-Jan. 15 Stevenson
Tues-Jan. 19 @ Chimacum (*)
Fri-Jan. 22 @ Port Townsend (*)
Tues-Jan. 26 Chimacum (*)
Fri-Jan. 29 Klahowya (*)
Tues-Feb. 2 Port Townsend (*) SENIOR NIGHT
Thur-Feb. 4 @ Chimacum (*)
Sat-Feb. 6 @ Klahowya (*)

Read Full Post »