Posts Tagged ‘awards’

   CHS grad Nick Streubel hangs out with his parents after a Central Washington University football win. (Photo courtesy Nanette Streubel)

   He’s like a Greek god, he is. (Photo property of Central Washington University football)

The accolades continue to pour in for Nick Streubel.

The Coupeville High School grad, now a red-shirt sophomore at Central Washington University, was named Friday as a First-Team selection to the NCAA D-II All-Super Region 4 football squad.

With that selection, he remains eligible to pick up votes when the national All-American team is tallied.

Friday’s regional honors come on the heels of Streubel previously being honored as a First-Team pick by the Great Northwest Athletic Conference.

With Streubel helping anchor the Wildcat offensive line, CWU averaged 466.4 yards and 39.4 points per game this season,

Central went undefeated in league play, finishing 11-1 after a playoff loss in double overtime.

The Wildcats landed 15 players on the Region 4 team, with nine earning First-Team honors.

For the whole breakdown, pop over to:


Read Full Post »

   Junior Dane Lucero is one of 18 Wolf football players to letter this season. (Photos by JohnsPhotos.net)

   Senior QB Hunter Downes, here making the great getaway, received Offensive MVP honors at Saturday’s team awards banquet.

A season of pain ended on a positive note.

With all the many injuries sustained this year now in the process of healing, the Coupeville High School football squad gathered Saturday to toast its accomplishments.

Wolf QB Hunter Downes, who broke the school’s career touchdown passes record, was named the Offensive MVP.

Also taking home hardware were seniors Cameron Toomey-Stout (Defensive MVP) and Julian Welling (Lineman of the Year) and juniors Shane Losey (Wolf Award) and Matt Hilborn (Special Teams MVP).

Earlier, Toomey-Stout was a three-time honoree when Olympic/Nisqually League coaches voted on All-Conference teams.

Camtastic was tabbed a First-Team player at both wide receiver and defensive back, while nabbing Second-Team props as a kick returner.

Downes was a Second-Team pick at QB, with Welling earning Honorable Mention on the defensive line.

At Saturday’s banquet, CHS head coach Jon Atkins handed letters to 18 players, with a third of those wrapping up a full four-year run in a Wolf uniform.

Letter winners (* indicates 4-year player):

Chris Battaglia
Hunter Downes
Matt Hilborn
Jake Hoagland

Teo Keilwitz
Gavin Knoblich
Ryan Labrador
Shane Losey
Dane Lucero
Andrew Martin
Tyler McCalmont
Jake Pease
Kyle Rockwell
Hunter Smith
Cameron Toomey-Stout
Sean Toomey-Stout
James Vidoni
Julian Welling

Certificate of Participation:

Trevor Bell
Dewitt Cole
Cameron Dahl
Dawson Houston
Brian Roberts
Ben Smith
Gavin Straub

Read Full Post »

   Freshman Melia Welling was named Most Improved at Wednesday’s CHS cheer banquet. (Photo courtesy Michion Welling)

First in spirit, first to have their banquet.

The Coupeville High School cheer squad kicked off awards season Wednesday, handing out letters and certificates to cap its fall campaign.

First-year coaches (and Wolf cheer alumni) Emily Stevens and Amanda Jones lettered 19 cheerleaders, with three taking home additional awards.

Ashleigh Battaglia claimed the Coaches Awards, Melia Welling was tabbed as Most Improved and Kaley Grigsby was honored as Most Spirited.

Earning varsity letters:

Ashleigh Battaglia
Julie Bucio
Coral Caveness
Kayla Caudle
Maggie Crimmins
Kaley Grigsby
Gaby Halpin
Jesse Hester
Ja’Tarya Hoskins
Isabel Hucke
Mckenzie Meyer
Claire Mietus
Nanci Melendrez
Mira Mostafavinassab
Heather Nastali
Moira Reed
Mica Shipley
Emma Somes
Melia Welling

Read Full Post »

   Megan Thorn and her horse, Cheyenne, celebrate a successful equestrian season. (Photo courtesy Gretchen Thorn)

Champions ride from Coupeville.

Horse sports have attracted the interest of numerous CHS athletes in recent years, with Wolf alumni such as Madison Tisa McPhee, Brendan Coleman and Ally Roberts going on to ride competitively in college.

Back on the Island, the current batch of riders continue to put up strong times and performances, and are being honored for their achievements.

Saturday the Whidbey Western Games Association, whose season runs from Mar. through Oct., handed out its year-end awards, with three Wolves bringing home hardware.

Thora Iverson claimed 1st place in the Pee Wee division, while Megan Thorn and Madison Krieg finished 3rd and 7th, respectively, in the Juniors division.

Thorn was also tabbed as a Princess when the association named its 2017 royalty.

While the WWGA season is done, Krieg, Thorn and CHS foreign exchange student Charlotte Nolle will continue to ride as part of a high school equestrian team.

Read Full Post »

   With winning teams and talented players, the future for Coupeville softball is a bright one. (Renae Mulholland photos)

The boys of summer.

Abby Mulholland (left) and Savina Wells have a chat.

“Ice cream????? Where???????”

The race is on.

Gwen Gustafson (left) and Mulholland enjoy their sweet treats.

With players repping different uniforms, it was an explosion of color.

Mariah Knoblich controls the universe, or at least the ice cream.

   Jill Prince, future Coupeville Sports Hall o’ Famer, was a huge star as a sixth grader.

The games aren’t done, but that’s no reason not to have a party.

While All-Star play looms ahead for many of its team, the Central Whidbey Little League took a moment Thursday to celebrate the season that was.

Ice cream and souvenirs were handed out, and softball mom Renae Mulholland was on hand to document the proceedings for us.

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »