Posts Tagged ‘polls’

James Vidoni (Photo by JohnsPhotos.net)

It was like a Godzilla movie, one in which Tokyo has no chance against the rampaging beast.

Rolling out to a huge lead, James Vidoni, former Wolf baseball player turned volunteer assistant coach, decimated the field in the “Best Spring Coach” poll.

With 12 hours left in the 26-coach, 50-hour rumble, the CHS grad had pulled in 72% of the vote.

If that had held, Vidoni would have posted the largest margin of victory in any poll conducted on Coupeville Sports.

But, he finally got a serious challenger late, when CMS track guru Elizabeth Bitting roared into action, piling up 700+ votes in the final half-day of competition.

While she didn’t make it all the way back, Bitting did finish with 950 votes, while Vidoni topped everyone with 1,694.

Rounding out the top five were CHS track coach Bob Martin (233), CHS baseball coach Chris Smith (86) and CHS girls tennis coach Ken Stange (67).

This was the eighth Top Coach poll in blog history, and the eighth (or ninth) different winner.

Past champs include Ryan King (CHS football), Randy King (CHS track), Bitting (CMS cross country), Dante and DeAndre Mitchell (CMS basketball), Jon Gabelein (CMS track), BreAnna Boon (CHS cheer), and Brad Sherman (CHS basketball).

The Mitchell brothers competed as individuals, but finished deadlocked in the only tie we’ve ever had.

Read Full Post »

Wolf coaches (left to right, top to bottom) Michael Barenburg, Elizabeth Bitting, Drake Borden, Reese Cernick, Mike Etzell, Jon Gabelein, Lark Gustafson, Matt Hilborn, Steve Hilborn.

Lincoln Kelley, Randy King, Aaron Lucero, Bob Martin, Justine McGranahan, Kevin McGranahan, Kyle Nelson, Jaylen Nitta.

Bryce Payne (black hoodie), Neil Rixe, Luke Samford, Chris Smith, Ken Stange, Will Thayer, James Vidoni, Robert Wood, Ron Wright.

They can’t win on the field this spring, but they can win in the digital arena.

The COVID-19 pandemic shut down spring sports right as games were about to begin, leaving every Coupeville team, high school and middle school, sitting at a permanent 0-0.

But, as long as the blog is running, we can take every Wolf coach, set their fan bases at war, and sit back and watch the sweet, sweet page hits reign down.

And the votes, of course, since that will determine which spring coach is the coachiest coach of them all.

It’s simple.

There are 26 coaches, and we’re including those with paid gigs as well as volunteers, while hopefully not leaving anyone out.

You get 50 hours to vote as many times as your little heart desires, with the poll starting Saturday, April 18 at 3 PM and finishing Monday, April 20 at 5 PM.

The prize for the winner? A brief burst of internet fame and a warm glow in their chest.

Let the madness commence.


Read Full Post »

Left to right, top to bottom: Drake Borden, Hannah Davidson, Koa Davison, Maddie Georges, Mason Grove, Mitchell Hall, Dawson Houston, Gavin Knoblich, and Mallory Kortuem. (Photos by JohnsPhotos.net)

L to r: Carolyn Lhamon, Catherine Lhamon, Andrew Martin, Emma Mathusek, Xavier Murdy, Chelsea Prescott, Jacobi Pilgrim, Avalon Renninger, Scout Smith

Maya Toomey-Stout, Sean Toomey-Stout, Zoe Trujillo, Maddie Vondrak, Ulrik Wells, Hawthorne Wolfe, Tia Wurzrainer

For the eighth straight year, it’s time to anoint one Wolf to rule them all.

Sort of.

Love it or hate it, the annual battle to be anointed as the Coupeville Sports Athlete Supreme returns.

With everything going on in the outside world, I decided to jump things forward from May to March, giving everyone one small thing to take their mind off of their cabin fever.

The contest is simple — I nominate 25 Coupeville High School athletes, you get 100 hours to vote (10 AM, Thursday, March 19 to 2 PM, Monday, March 23), and one victor emerges.

In previous go-rounds, you had to have made an impact on at least two varsity teams to be eligible.

This year, with spring sports on hiatus, I’ve changed it to one team.

It’s not easy to get things down from say, 28 to 25 athletes.

The last person cut had a decent fall and winter, and was headed into a spring where they would likely have been a star, putting them over the edge if we were doing this in May.

It is what it is, though.

If you’re ticked at being left out, remember this — it’s a fake award. And the guy who made the nominations (me) is often an idiot.

For those nominated, if you and/or your fan base want to fight for a title previously won by Nick Streubel, Amanda Fabrizi, CJ Smith, Hunter Smith, Joey Lippo, Ethan Spark, and Mason Grove, great.

If not, no worries.

In the end, there’s no real prize for the winner, just a warm feeling in your chest from all that internet love, and the chance to smack-talk everyone (from a reasonable distance).

Sometimes that’s enough.

After several years of unlimited voting, which allowed people to run computer scripts and nuke the vote totals, we went back to semi-restricted voting last year.

That forced people to rely more on rallying fan bases and kept the race exciting until the end.

So, we’re keeping things that way this time around, and it should allow you to vote once per device, every three hours.


Read Full Post »

Coupeville High School boys basketball coach Brad Sherman is our winter poll winner. (Photo by JohnsPhotos.net)

It was the last poll of the decade, and it came down to a mere handful of votes.

In the end, Coupeville High School boys basketball coach Brad Sherman rallied to edge out CMS boys hoops guru Greg White and lay claim to the “much-coveted” title of “Top Coach of the Winter 2019.”

Sherman finished with 176 votes in our 13-coach, 50-hour poll, which wrapped Monday morning, while White racked up 172 tallies.

Rounding out the top five were Alex Evans (154), Arik Garthwaite (108), and Megan Smith (43).

Read Full Post »

Clockwise, from top left, are Craig Anderson, BreAnna Boon, Michael Davidson, Alex Evans, Scott Fox, Arik Garthwaite, Sarah Reinstra, Jon Roberts, Brad Sherman, Chris Smith, Megan Smith, Patrick Upchurch, and Greg White.

You don’t have to fight, but it’s more interesting if you do.

It’s that time of the season, when David is looking for some sweet, sweet page hits, so he tosses a group of coaches in a (digital) room, slaps 50 hours on the clock, and waits to see who emerges triumphant.

The battle to be named “Top Coach of the Winter” kicks off Saturday, Dec. 28 at 7 AM, and closes Monday, Dec. 30 at 9 AM(ish).

We have 13 coaches repping middle and high school basketball, as well as CHS cheer.

As always, you can vote as many times as your little heart (and voting fingers) desire.

Now, as in every poll here on Coupeville Sports, there’s no real trophy, just a nice warm glow in the chest of the winner.

And the chance for that coach to lord it over every other coach, at least until we launch the “Top Coach of the Spring” a couple of months from now.

To the coaches involved, if you don’t care about the award, no worries.

And if you? Let the bodies hit the floor!


Read Full Post »

Older Posts »